Joe Lon’s untitled walk.

I was walking my dog Joe Lon yesterday when I overheard the wildest statement I’ve ever stumbled into.  I don’t know any of my neighbors, other than the folks on the other half of my duplex, and I’m not all adamant about meeting them.

Joe Lon and I were on the way back from walking up the giant hill/mountain behind my duplex and a woman in an automatic wheelchair crossed the street ahead of me.  Briefly I was concerned that she was coming to talked to me.  My mom taught me not to talk to strangers.  But it turns out she was on the way to see an woman getting her mail.  They hugged as I approached and I held tight to Joe Lon’s leash.

About the time I pass them I hear the woman in the wheelchair say “I’ve made a big decision.”  The other woman asks what it is and while I’m just passed them I hear the woman in the wheelchair say “I’ve decided to cut off my legs and get prosthetics.”  You don’t hear that everyday.  Good for her.

~ by charleshaleblog on April 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
