Minnesota, Athens, Corbu, Those small swimming pools.

I was cleaning windows today for a nice guy who owns a carpet cleaning business.  There isn’t a worthwhile blog post in this experience but this man mentioned being from Minnesota and thus I remembered this story from my time with the Window King.

I spotted the house while it was being remodel, if you came up the side street you could see the back of the house and it was all windows.  I mentioned the house to the Window King and a few weeks later the builder called.

I’ve been trained that I shouldn’t really talk to the customers unless they start talking to me.  I was fine with this but at some point on this job the woman started talking to me.  I think we were walking around the outside of the house and she was just passing the time.  Her car had a Minnesota licence plate and she said something about working at the University of Minnesota and I said something about my friend Corbu being the voice of the women’s basketball team there.  Blah blah blah.  Then she asked me where I was from and I said Athens GA.

OK.  Athens is home to the University of Georgia, REM is from there, the Greek houses are huge.  Basically what I’m saying is that people go to Athens to have a good time.  And I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter where I go in the country I will always run into people with an Athens story.  I stand there and listen, blah blah blah,  “we love that place, i’ve been to the Varsity, i got so wasted the one weekend i was there” yadda yadda yadda.  But this woman had an Athens story and her’s is BY FAR the best I’ve ever heard.

Before I tell you her Athens story let me tell you that she and her husband bought this home because their daughter had come to college at Ole Miss and they loved having a second home where it didn’t snow.  She also had one of those small pools in the house that is only slightly bigger than a person and you can swim against the stream without going anywhere.  You get the idea.

So she tells me that years ago she and her husband were visiting some family in Athens and staying in a hotel downtown and one night while they were waiting to go to dinner they conceived they’re daughter in the hotel there.  I think she said something about how she couldn’t believe she was telling me this or how she shouldn’t be telling me this.  And I’m certain that she lowered the volume of her voice when she said it.

Six months later I saw her walk into my favorite bar with her daughter.  I wish facebook had been around back then because I would have friended her so that she could see this blog post.

~ by charleshaleblog on June 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
