the radio, the work, and the things they bury in the basement.

The thing about NPR is that I can learn stuff I never knew I wanted to learn.  The other day I heard an interview with the guy who has been the man behind the muppet Elmo since 1980 something.  He had always dreamed of being a puppeteer, even as a small boy.  He also had no real idea about the Tickle Me Elmo doll until he bought one in the store.

The next day I learned about some of the history of Ballet.  It was also enthralling.

Here’s the thing about NPR-you can be mesmerized and engrossed in the report and by the next day you’ve forgotten most of the story but you’re ready to hear another one.

 

On another note:  I’ve found some handyman work for January.  It’s a previous customer, but more importantly the brother of a friend.  I’ll be spending the winter painting the trim and doors inside his massage studio.  There are also walls to clean.  I’ll also be spending a bunch of time nursing my OCD side in the basement where I will be organizing tools and whatnot.  It will be dusty.  I can’t express to you how much I’m looking forward to this.  Haha, my life is awesome.

~ by charleshaleblog on December 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “the radio, the work, and the things they bury in the basement.”

  1. I just wanted you to know I did not find your blog while searching for naked men in glasses…which is too bad because it would make a cool story.

    I came over from ninebullets – less embarrasing but more boring.

    – Kit

  2. thanks kit. people keep searching for that and finding me. also someone searched for flava flav in glasses and ended up here. i think they were disappointed.

Leave a Reply

 
